Darryn Kruse



Member since
04/10/2012

Darryn Kruse

Engaging and inspiring

Darryn Kruse is currently principal of Point Cook Senior SC, after spending four years as both campus principal and teacher at Williamstown High School. As a professional writer and speaker he works in the areas of change management and educational research, acting as critical friend for several negotiated school reviews and whole school reform projects and coordinating large-scale research projects into education reform (Vic. Yrs. 5-8 Research Project & William Buckland Foundation MYoS ‘Lighthouse Schools’ Project).

Please note the feedback listed here is unfiltered, and includes all comments and ratings collected.

Integrated Inquiry in the Middle Years: Principles, Processes and Practices - Online
by Paul Wallace on 19/02/2015

The course was good but only relevant in certain circumstances. The examples used did not suit a wide range of applications in my opinion.

Integrated Inquiry in the Middle Years: Principles, Processes and Practices - Online
20/01/2015

A little disappointing when compared to the previous online course I did with TTA. More meaningful feedback of work submitted would have been helpful and there seemed to be limited online interaction between those doing the course. In fact, looking at the last activity (as of December 2014) , there did not seem to have been many people who completed the course. I found the example program to be a little bit too complex to be helpful in unpacking the concepts and translating them into my Upper Primary class context.

Integrated Inquiry in the Middle Years: Principles, Processes and Practices
by Natalia Paull on 02/12/2014

I found Darryn’s course '‘ Inquiry approach in the middle years - principles, processes, practices...’' to be very useful and informative.
The presenter was very good and it was great to communicate with him. He was very good at giving some tips which can be useful in the classroom and all his materials were very well presented online.
I would rate the course as excellent and I would highly recommend it to other teachers who would like to learn more about inquiry approach in the middle school and implement this in their teaching practice.

03/12/2013

The course was useful in explaining integrated inquiry in an easily understood format. The instructor was particularly good, and patient, and interested in each and every participant. He always took time to give constructive feedback. I also found the forum a good source of ideas for this study.

27/11/2013

Good course. Clear cut and straight forward. I would have like some more example programs though and I felt that the example program was not that great.

25/11/2013

The course was very enjoyable and easily accessed whenever it suited me best. I learnt a lot more about Integrated Inquiry and solidified that which I already knew. The opportunity to comment on the different aspects of Integrated Inquiry amongst the group allowed different ideas and perspectives to be introduced. Darryn Kruse was very prompt in responding to our posts and very encouraging.

03/09/2009

Very well presented, great resources, appreciated the opportunity to interact and mix with other participants, extended my knowledge and skills. Fantastic!

03/09/2009

Very constructive information and resources. Great interactive activities.

03/09/2009

Ver useful hands on and practical suggestions. I have already got ideas planned to help students extend ideas into writing.

03/09/2009

I have attended other PD’s by this presenter and this PD further expanded my faith in him as being an extremely informative and motivational teacher of teachers.

03/09/2009

An extremely valuable wealth of ideas and resources. Very good value for money. I will definately be buying Darren’s books! Really please, maybe a little more information on new cognitive functions work, or some written resources on this would be good.

03/09/2009

Very practical applications. Hands on apprach, accessibility to students of all levels- strategies clearly applicable and meaningful.

03/09/2009

Very practical, lots of imagination and easy to follow.

03/09/2009
03/09/2009

Darryn is great because he is actually teaching, so he gives real experiences, not stuff that was relevant years ago.

03/09/2009

The resources and ideas were very good. I loved taking away the handouts full of ideas. A good balance of activities, practical exercises, reading and listening to Darryn.

03/09/2009

Very beneficial.

03/09/2009
03/09/2009
03/09/2009

Interesting and useful ideas.