Kirsty Costa - Cool Australia



Member since
13/10/2014

Kirsty Costa - Cool Australia

Award winning educator

Kirsty helps teachers grow in their profession. She is the Head of Professional Development at Cool Australia, inspiring hundreds of educators each year. Kirsty shares her 15+ years of teaching and training experience. In her courses, she creates a dynamic space for teachers to be creative and curious. She builds teacher confidence and makes information relevant, helpful and powerful. Kirsty also has a background in communication and talking to people about change.

Please note the feedback listed here is unfiltered, and includes all comments and ratings collected.

Teach Traditional Land Management - Kirsty Costa
22/12/2018

I found the quality of this course excellent. It gave me not only an insight in traditional land management, but also in understanding Aboriginal and Torres Strait people and their culture so much better. I am sure that it will also help me to interact in a more meaningful way with students from Aboriginal and Torres Strait decent.

Teach the Story of Our Stuff - Kirsty Costa
22/12/2018

Relevant and high quality content and resources

Teach the Story of Our Stuff - Kirsty Costa
22/12/2018

The youtube clips, websites and examples were extremely helpful and I will use some of them in my lessons.

Nature Play in Early Childhood - Kirsty Costa
22/12/2018

Simple but very applicable, easy to complete

Make Maths Meaningful - Kirsty Costa
22/12/2018

Excellent

Teach Real-Life Maths
by Nicole Newton on 05/04/2018

The course was interesting and gave me ideas on how to engage students in real-life maths in hands-on activities.

Teach Traditional Land Management
by Jessica Wilson on 05/02/2018

Content was engaging and I took a lot from it. The additional links to resources were also very helpful.
Will definitely be using the gained knowledge to improve my teaching – I now feel a lot more comfortable teaching it all.

Making Geography Cool (Secondary)
by Maryan Shehata on 17/10/2017

This course has provided me with a number of strategies to make the new Geography course interesting. Kirsty has also shared with us some interesting resources, for which I am grateful for. Highly recommend this course to develop understanding of the new Geography Syllabus and effective strategies to make the course more relevant and engaging for students.

Teach Real-Life Maths
by Fiona Gillespie on 25/09/2017

The course learning intentions were suitable for all year levels and can be easily adapted to suit the needs of your class.

The variety of activities were valuable and resources were excellent. The cool Australia website is great.

Teach Real-Life Maths
by Alexandra McGain on 21/09/2017

Fabulous course on sustainability and to see how other schools are integrating environmental education into their programs. There wasn’t much of a Mathematics focus, which was a shame. However, the course was still great and I would highly recommend it!!!

Make Maths Meaningful
by Matthew O'Connor on 21/09/2017

I enjoyed the practical nature and to find the organisation Cool Australia

Making Geography Cool (Secondary)
by Maria Mertzanakis on 27/08/2017

This course was quite useful in better understanding the term sustainability and its implications for teaching.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Avital Melman on 27/08/2017

I found this course very helpful and gave me the tools to start writing my own project for Year 7 & 8 students.

Teach Traditional Land Management
by Jolyon Gray on 17/07/2017

I feel confident now to teach on this topic of traditional land-care & management. Will be a great resource for Duke of Edinburgh’s Award participants when we are in remote areas and discussing flora, fauna and land-care & management.

Nature Play in Early Childhood
by Melinda Davis on 17/07/2017

This course was informative and enjoyable as well as flexible to cater to busy working people.

Teach the Story of Our Stuff
by Renee Stojakovic on 17/07/2017

Some very useful links to resources that could be used in the classroom. The information was clearly presented and a variety of mediums of delivery meant that it was engaging.

Teach the Story of Our Stuff
by Donna Jones on 17/07/2017

Some great resources for further investigation and acessing for students in class. Straight forward and not over-complicated.Was quick and easy to achieve.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Qi Zhou on 17/07/2017

I think this is an excellent course which allows teachers to brainstorm what sort of ideas teachers can implement as a real project.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Mitchell Smith on 17/07/2017

Valuable course which provided some great ideas for implementation of Recycling topic in junior maths/science classroom.
The flexibility of this program and it’s easy to follow process was a great way to engage the participants. The content provided shows some quality real life connections.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Lila Gulabovska on 17/07/2017

More mathematics shown in the videos would have been meaningful.