Kirsty Costa - Cool Australia



Member since
13/10/2014

Kirsty Costa - Cool Australia

Award winning educator

Kirsty helps teachers grow in their profession. She is the Head of Professional Development at Cool Australia, inspiring hundreds of educators each year. Kirsty shares her 15+ years of teaching and training experience. In her courses, she creates a dynamic space for teachers to be creative and curious. She builds teacher confidence and makes information relevant, helpful and powerful. Kirsty also has a background in communication and talking to people about change.

Please note the feedback listed here is unfiltered, and includes all comments and ratings collected.

Making Geography Cool (Secondary)
by Maryan Shehata on 17/10/2017

This course has provided me with a number of strategies to make the new Geography course interesting. Kirsty has also shared with us some interesting resources, for which I am grateful for. Highly recommend this course to develop understanding of the new Geography Syllabus and effective strategies to make the course more relevant and engaging for students.

Teach Real-Life Maths
by Fiona Gillespie on 25/09/2017

The course learning intentions were suitable for all year levels and can be easily adapted to suit the needs of your class.

The variety of activities were valuable and resources were excellent. The cool Australia website is great.

Teach Real-Life Maths
by Alexandra McGain on 21/09/2017

Fabulous course on sustainability and to see how other schools are integrating environmental education into their programs. There wasn’t much of a Mathematics focus, which was a shame. However, the course was still great and I would highly recommend it!!!

Make Maths Meaningful
by Matthew O'Connor on 21/09/2017

I enjoyed the practical nature and to find the organisation Cool Australia

Making Geography Cool (Secondary)
by Maria Mertzanakis on 27/08/2017

This course was quite useful in better understanding the term sustainability and its implications for teaching.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Avital Melman on 27/08/2017

I found this course very helpful and gave me the tools to start writing my own project for Year 7 & 8 students.

Teach Traditional Land Management
by Jolyon Gray on 17/07/2017

I feel confident now to teach on this topic of traditional land-care & management. Will be a great resource for Duke of Edinburgh’s Award participants when we are in remote areas and discussing flora, fauna and land-care & management.

Nature Play in Early Childhood
by Melinda Davis on 17/07/2017

This course was informative and enjoyable as well as flexible to cater to busy working people.

Teach the Story of Our Stuff
by Renee Stojakovic on 17/07/2017

Some very useful links to resources that could be used in the classroom. The information was clearly presented and a variety of mediums of delivery meant that it was engaging.

Teach the Story of Our Stuff
by Donna Jones on 17/07/2017

Some great resources for further investigation and acessing for students in class. Straight forward and not over-complicated.Was quick and easy to achieve.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Qi Zhou on 17/07/2017

I think this is an excellent course which allows teachers to brainstorm what sort of ideas teachers can implement as a real project.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Mitchell Smith on 17/07/2017

Valuable course which provided some great ideas for implementation of Recycling topic in junior maths/science classroom.
The flexibility of this program and it’s easy to follow process was a great way to engage the participants. The content provided shows some quality real life connections.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Lila Gulabovska on 17/07/2017

More mathematics shown in the videos would have been meaningful.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Matthew Wall on 17/07/2017

Lots of great ideas.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Moira Jefferson on 17/07/2017

Lots of ideas for how students can be involved in recycling but would have liked more mathematics in the course.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Margo Stanford on 17/07/2017

I would like to have seen more mathematics used in the plans.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Margaret Jakeman on 17/07/2017

I would like to have seen more mathematics used in the lesson plans

Make Maths Meaningful
by Craig Young on 06/06/2017

It was great to be exposed to the range of resources on the Cool Australia website and to see what other schools are doing in this important area of sustainability.

Make Maths Meaningful
by Hilary Page on 06/06/2017

Informative course which really depicts how large the problem of littering and pollution still is in Australia, and how we can incorporate mathematics into our lessons to analyse some of this information.

Teach Traditional Land Management
by Justin Verco on 18/04/2017

Whilst I had a basic understanding of Indigenous fire stick burning at the onset of the course, I realised quickly how limited my understanding was. The course was an efficient and manageable way of gaining knowledge on the subject as well as useful resources to use with several of my classes to promote their understanding.