Brian Sowerby



Member since
15/03/2010

Brian Sowerby

Award winning scientist

Brian Sowerby recently retired as Chief Research Scientist and Program Manager (Instrumentation and Control) with CSIRO Minerals. He obtained a BSc (Hons 1) from the University of NSW and a PhD in physics from the Australian National University. Following two years post-doctoral work in Canada, Brian has carried out research and development in Australia on the application of on-line analysis techniques in the mineral, energy and security industries. His work led to the commercialisation of a number of on-line analysis instruments and he has received many awards for this work including the prestigious Australia Prize in 1992.

Please note the feedback listed here is unfiltered, and includes all comments and ratings collected.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Amy Young on 16/11/2017

Found this course incredible interesting and a wonderful source of resources and knowledge.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Karen Eykelenkamp on 14/11/2017

This course had an overwhelming amount of information and data on the subject that was easily deciphered and understood with the use of graphs and diagrams. The supplied lessons on power point were excellent to be used in any classroom for geography, science, environmental sciences etc.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Stephen boyd on 02/11/2017

The course was very informative. The materials were presented in a clear manner, and were of a very high standard.

The level of the course suited me well, as most of what was included I could directly use in the classroom.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Tania Hogan on 17/07/2017

An interesting and well-designed course, with great resources that I will definitely use in my classroom.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by michelle daly on 29/12/2016

I found the course content engaging with plenty of interesting resources that I can weave into my planning documents.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Marianne Bohdan on 15/03/2016

Great content and clear presentation. A course should be developed for sustainable design development.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
15/03/2016

The context was very up to date and informative.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
15/03/2016

Very detailed coverage of the information. Also an expert in the field.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Hiba Haragli on 15/03/2016

Very informative and important

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
15/03/2016

Very informative, detailed and current. Next time more reference to the new syllabus would be greatly appreciated.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by David Massingham on 14/12/2015

The online Course run by Brian Sowerby was very informative, and the break down of the course into Six main topics, some of them including Reasons for Change; Coal and Gas; and Renewable Resources helped to explain and engage participants in some rather complex and heady topics. Student participation was considerable, and Brian provided timely and insightful feedback to student responses that helped expand our learning and broaden our knowledge of the topic. I thought that this course was excellent and would recommend it to anyone trying to upscale or learn more about Australia’s (and the world’s) energy resources, and viable replacement options for Coal, Gas and Oil.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Robert Melady on 07/12/2015

Really enjoyed the self paced online course. Whenever I could find the time I slowly made my way through the course. Leaving feedback and answering questions is a great way for people to get involved and feel connected.
The creation of the teaching resources pushes you to use the knowledge gained during the professional development into practice.

Renewable Electricity? What are the options?
by Nathan Welburn on 02/12/2015

Course was really succinct and informative
Had so much information packed into such a small time frame, this was really beneficial. If you are looking for a course that is quick but really informs you of the different renewable energy options than this course is great.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
22/12/2014

Very technical – a bit more focused on incorporating these concepts into the classroom would be great.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Kate Bailey on 22/12/2014

Very interesting and informative.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Megan Bromley on 22/12/2014

This course was rich in content and presented thoughtfully and confidently. It definitely will be of use to me in my teaching and programming.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Charlotte Stephens on 22/12/2014

This course goes through exactly the right information for teachers – not too scientific, pitched just right for non-experts. Useful ideas/videos for use in school.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Susan Filan on 22/12/2014

Brian provided heaps of information that I can use for a variety of levels for students. I really appreciated current info for me and resources I can use for students too.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Penny Whiting on 23/07/2014

This course material was incredibly interesting, however time consuming to read all of it.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Melinda Mestre on 21/07/2014

I found the course very information and useful. It was beneficial from the content area (content that I can also use in the classroom). The statistics presented were challenging and they were from a good selection of sources.