Brian Sowerby



Member since
15/03/2010

Brian Sowerby

Award winning scientist

Brian Sowerby recently retired as Chief Research Scientist and Program Manager (Instrumentation and Control) with CSIRO Minerals. He obtained a BSc (Hons 1) from the University of NSW and a PhD in physics from the Australian National University. Following two years post-doctoral work in Canada, Brian has carried out research and development in Australia on the application of on-line analysis techniques in the mineral, energy and security industries. His work led to the commercialisation of a number of on-line analysis instruments and he has received many awards for this work including the prestigious Australia Prize in 1992.

Please note the feedback listed here is unfiltered, and includes all comments and ratings collected.

Sustainable Energy - An Unbiased Review of Options - Brian Sowerby
22/12/2018

Highly informative with great detail and illustrations

Sustainable Energy - An Unbiased Review of Options - Brian Sowerby
22/12/2018

Material is a detailed and factual account of options available to provide electricity in Australia, which will be used in classroom topic`Energy in Australia" for students

Sustainable Energy - An Unbiased Review of Options - Brian Sowerby
22/12/2018

Amazing. Such a great depth of knowledge offered at an incredibly accessible level!

Sustainable Energy - An Unbiased Review of Options - Brian Sowerby
22/12/2018

High quality and very relevant

Sustainable Energy - An Unbiased Review of Options - Brian Sowerby
22/12/2018

The information was thorough and informative. Very relevant to what I wanted to know.

Renewable Electricity? What are the options? - Brian Sowerby
22/12/2018

Great task for Geography students on renewables

Electricity from Coal, Gas and Nuclear. What is the Future? - Brian Sowerby
22/12/2018

Very good and informative

Electricity from Coal, Gas and Nuclear. What is the Future? - Brian Sowerby
22/12/2018

Very interesting and of a high standard

Electricity from Coal, Gas and Nuclear. What is the Future? - Brian Sowerby
22/12/2018

Quality of information was excellent and detailed for each energy source to use in Geography

Electricity from Coal, Gas and Nuclear. What is the Future? - Brian Sowerby
22/12/2018

excellent course and great topic for debate in class on energy preferences

18/05/2018

Lots of information. Thank you.

18/05/2018

Informative and well resourced

18/05/2018

Fascinating, I learnt a lot. Very interesting.

Renewable Electricity? What are the options?
by Alexander Baryshev on 13/03/2018

Very interesting and well presented. Very good

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Amy Young on 16/11/2017

Found this course incredible interesting and a wonderful source of resources and knowledge.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Karen Eykelenkamp on 14/11/2017

This course had an overwhelming amount of information and data on the subject that was easily deciphered and understood with the use of graphs and diagrams. The supplied lessons on power point were excellent to be used in any classroom for geography, science, environmental sciences etc.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Stephen boyd on 02/11/2017

The course was very informative. The materials were presented in a clear manner, and were of a very high standard.

The level of the course suited me well, as most of what was included I could directly use in the classroom.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Tania Hogan on 17/07/2017

An interesting and well-designed course, with great resources that I will definitely use in my classroom.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by michelle daly on 29/12/2016

I found the course content engaging with plenty of interesting resources that I can weave into my planning documents.

Sustainable Energy: an unbiased Review of Options
by Marianne Bohdan on 15/03/2016

Great content and clear presentation. A course should be developed for sustainable design development.